New house update

I haven’t been posting here for a while as I have been busy settling into my new flat with my fiancé. I have to admit that, despite being anxious about moving, I have settled into the new flat really well. I love the fact that we now have our own kitchen as the kitchen in the staff accommodation at my previous workplace was communal and I get anxious about sharing kitchen facilities in case they’re not as clean as I would personally like. Now we have our own kitchen, I am cooking dinners most nights with the week’s menu planned in advance and most of them my fiancé approves of which is always a plus!

I am also enjoying being responsible for my own cleaning and laundry. Moving out has really motivated me to keep on top of these things. The fact that the flat is relatively small means that I cannot hoard possessions which is a positive thing. I am also really enjoying my independence and I love the fact that I am still walking distance from work (although admittedly it’s now a 15 minute walk rather than a 2 minute one!)

Overall I strongly believe my life has definitely changed for the better. Although I was nervous at leaving my comfort zone, I now feel secure and confident in my new home. The next stop is the wedding and then looking at another place to move to.

I would like to say to anyone who has Aspergers or who has a relative or friend with Aspergers and feels that they will never be able to move out of the family home, anything is possible. I always thought I’d live in staff accommodation for the rest of my working life but here I am, living in a flat with my fiancé. It is a massive step and, for many people both with and without Aspergers, it causes a huge amount of anxiety but, if you find the right type of environment for you to live in taking into account finances and personal circumstances, whether as a single person or part of a couple, it is definitely achievable. For anyone who is in that process at the moment, I wish you all the best-it can get very stressful but, once you are in your new home, if you have made the right choices, happiness should prevail.

4 Responses to New house update

  1. Joanna Marsh says:

    Steph, you are an inspiration…….you have done so done so well, we are all so proud of you 🙂

  2. Autism Mom says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  3. aspertypical says:

    This gives me confidence, I’m currently at the point of think I should move out but i’ve just been too scared to make a big change.

Leave a Reply

