This is the reality of my Aspergers

Disclaimer-as mentioned in the title, these experiences of Aspergers are mine and thus they are related to my specific manifestations of the condition. Other people with Aspergers may not recognise themselves in everything that I write here but it is a personal account and so this is describing the reality of my Aspergers.

Thinking over and over again for weeks, months and years after an embarrassing or awkward situation has occurred and remembering it all in excruciatingly painful detail-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Being able to speak in public about a topic that I am interested in but being so nervous about making a phone call that I literally cannot speak-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Being so upset that there was an odd number of Pringles in the pack that I waited until everybody else in the house was asleep and then sneaked downstairs to open another pack and eat one more Pringle to make sure I had eaten an even amount of Pringles-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Circling every line of text in a newspaper in a frenzied manner to remind myself that I had read it all-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Being able to read medical advice books cover to cover at the age of six but not being able to dress myself at the same age-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Being able to read and comprehend complicated books but not being able to understand sarcasm or jokes-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Always being wanted on quiz teams because I know the most random facts-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Not being able to understand why people place so much emphasis on such shallow and superficial things when what truly matters is the soul of a person-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Being unable to stop myself correcting other people’s little mistakes even though I know I make so many myself-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

Always feeling like everyone else has got the rule book in social situations and you’re the one left baffled, wondering how everyone else instinctively knows what to do without having to be told-this is the reality of my Aspergers.

 

5 Responses to This is the reality of my Aspergers

  1. neverfretlove says:

    Thank you for this.

  2. Joseyjo says:

    Wow Steph, this actually brought tears to my eyes. I agree so much with your point about people putting emphasis on shallow or superficial things……..and yes, what REALLY matters in life is your soul, spirit and heart. Well done!! xxx

  3. janonlife says:

    This is a wonderful post. Thank you so much for sharing your perspective on life so clearly and poignantly Jan x.

Leave a Reply

