My New Years Resolution

Firstly, I would like to wish my readers and followers a Happy New Year. I hope that 2014 is a fantastic and blessed year for every single one of you.

I usually never make New Years Resolutions because I don’t have the willpower to stick to them and, when I fail at them, it frustrates me. This year, however, I have decided to make a New Years Resolution that I really want to keep. Those of you who have me on Facebook may be aware of this resolution already so apologies for the repetition but I figured making it public would make it less easy for me to break.

My New Years Resolution for 2014 (and hopefully beyond) is to be kinder to myself. As I have mentioned on this blog before, I am my own harshest critic and often give myself a hard time for minor mistakes that I would tell anyone else not to worry about. My mind has a tendency to come up with the most vicious put downs ever, much more vicious than any put down said to me by someone else. Once I am stuck in a cycle of negative thinking, it is extremely hard to break out of it and see the world as a positive place. When I am in one of these moods, everything in the world appears tainted and nothing anyone says or does to try and support me works. The only person who can break the cycle is me and, this year, I intend to do so permanently.

This, of course, is not to say that I will never fall into feeling low or frustrated again-that would be foolish to assert as these emotions are part of life. However, when I do notice that I feel this way, I will try and engage in an activity that distracts me from how I am feeling and attempt to fill my mind with positive thoughts rather than focusing on the negative ones. There is so much good in this world-I just need to concentrate harder on finding it and that will not happen when I am constantly focusing on what is wrong in the world.

I hope that, in time, the process of positive thinking will come naturally to me and I won’t have to concentrate quite so much on it but, for now, I just need to be thankful for what I have. I have a fantastic family, fantastic friends, a good job, a nice, self contained flat in the staff accommodation where I work and this blog has been read by a lot more people than I expected when I wrote that first post back in August last year. I thought a couple of people might read it on a couple of occasions-the support it has received has been amazing. Thank you so much to each and every one of you for taking the time to read it.

May health and happiness be with you this year (and if you see me breaking my New Years Resolution, feel free to firmly remind me of it!)

Leave a Reply

