A Welcome Note!

My name is Steph and I am 26 years old. I work in a residential special school and, in my spare time, I enjoy listening to music and spending probably more time than is good for me on Facebook! I also enjoy watching Eastenders, Casualty, Friends (I own the entire box set) and pretty much every human interest documentary there is.  

I also have Aspergers Syndrome, diagnosed at the age of 8. This brings with it a lot of strengths and also a lot of issues. In this blog, I will be evaluating my life with Aspergers and letting my readership into my innermost thoughts. There will be positive and uplifting posts and some which are not so positive because that is an honest account of my life. 

I have always had a flair for language (although my Aspergers means that I often use language in an odd and over literal way) and, when I was a child, I had a desire to be a journalist so it is perhaps surprising that this is my first blog. I find that I can express myself in a far more articulate manner in writing than I can verbally. After all, with the written word, there is little to confuse me-no tone of voice, no body language and no facial expressions. I know that this is what a lot of people who aren’t on the autistic spectrum find confusing about online communication but, for me, it is the opposite. It is very freeing and allows me to concentrate solely on content rather than having to try and decipher the many subtle nuances of non verbal communication. Having lived with Aspergers for 26 years and having had the knowledge of it for 17 of those years (I found out a year after my diagnosis), I have naturally developed coping strategies and can now decipher some of these nuances but it is hard work particularly when one facial expression, such as a raised eyebrow, can mean many different things in the context of who is using it, and my success rate in deciphering these expressions is still not great! Anyhow, that is probably a topic for another day so I will leave it there.

I hope you enjoy reading my blog. Please feel free to ask any questions-I am always happy to try and explain Aspergers to people. As a disclaimer, I feel obliged to point out that this is MY experience of living with Aspergers on a daily basis. Some people have a tendency to think/believe that everyone with Aspergers thinks in the same way and experiences the same issues and strengths but this is not true. We are all individuals and, whilst we all share elements of the diagnostic criteria, though obviously differing in severity, we really are as different from each other as any two people without Aspergers. Hence, if you are coming to my blog as someone with Aspergers, you may not see yourself in some of the things that I write about. This is fine-being an individual is what life is all about after all!

Have a good read!

 

One Response to A Welcome Note!

  1. I look forward to reading your blog, Steph! 🙂

Leave a Reply

